Transborder cooperation

In 2009 National Association of Local Authorities of Georgia and Communities Association of Armenia established the first trans-border cooperation union– Euroregion Euro Caucasus.  It covers 4 Georgian municipalities located along the state border of Georgia and Armenia and 2 Armenian Uyezds.

The organization aims at promoting development of trans-border municipalities through cooperation, and at supporting implementing specific projects which will be oriented on development of small business, tourism, education and agriculture. It envisages bringing the peoples together and facilitating dialogue of cultures.  

NALAG is actively cooperating in order to create a similar system along the state border of Georgia and Azerbaijan.